How has remote work affected your personal & professional life?

• Community ManagerCommunity Manager
    Community Manager

How has remote work affected your personal & professional life?

March 31, 2022 at 06:46
    • Denise BurnettDenise Burnett
      Member since Apr 2022

I have been working from home since early 2021. I enjoy the flexibility I have, as well as the focus I can achieve by having my own work space where I am able to control the volume and level of activity (which is appreciated after having shared an office with 3 other people). I appreciate the connectivity that updated technology has provided so that even while I am not interacting one on one with people, I can still interact visually with my colleagues. There is greater capability when it comes to meetings and shared workspace/presentations/documents. While others have grown to dislike Zoom over the last couple years, I feel that it has helped me accomplish tasks, training, troubleshooting more efficiently, especially when working across sites. People I would not normally have interacted with, because they are working from a different office site, are just a video call away. There has been some isolating moments but I am generally more task oriented at work so I don’t feel the loss of social interactions as strongly as some others do. I enjoy being able to being effective at work and also be present for my kids at the beginning of the day and then end of their day, take time out at lunch to be productive with home tasks or just be in a more relaxing environment if I need that time to relax and refresh. There are also days that I would normally not have felt well enough to go into work (I suffer with Chronic Migraine and office settings can contribute to a worsening condition), but working remotely has allowed me to still be able to do the work from a controlled environment, which has lead to less time off work. Overall, I would absolutely choose to continue working remotely.